Let me start out by saying, I don’t think God has failed… But the way some people talk about ecunenicalism I’m starting to wonder.

This may seen controversial but I’m not too bothered that there are lots of denominations and movements. If God had intended for there to be only one ‘church’ (that is denomination) then things have gone really wrong.

But I’m not sure that is what God intended. As with many things I think the bog issue is pride. There is in fact one church, one bride, one nation. The problem comes when I think only my denomination is that bride. However what having a number of movements, with different ideas (i do think there is limit to how wide these ideas can be for it to be Christian!) Does is to keep us humble.

In fact I’d go so far as to say I think it is God’s intention that there should be differences. Because on that great day we’ll all be standing together, praising God for how he used us in his plans and purposes, in the things we got right and the things we got wrong. And we’ll marvell at how he did this and brought such glory to his Son and his name.

What I think we need to do is fight against pride, to celebrate God’s work in and through people with whom we disagree, to pray thankfully for that work and to enjoy the freedom of conscience our Father gives us.

