The All-Good

Believing that God always has our best interests at heart is sometimes very difficult, especially in the midst of suffering that we do not understand and cannot see the end of. This prayer is not a glib poem about God always caring. Rather it is a heart decision to trust God no matter what happens, to ‘know’ that he is good and cares and to trust his provision. We can ask God for comfort and peace. But as the last line acknowledges, if that is not Gods good plan then we’re wise to trust what he does give us.

My God,
You have helped me to see,
that whatever good be in honour and celebrating,
it is the one who gives them and withdraws them that is good;
that blessedness does not lie so much
in receiving good from you, but
in being able to see your glory and virtue;
that it is an amazing thing
to see Deity in a creature, speaking, acting, filling, shining through it;
that nothing is good but you,
that I am near good when I am near you,
that to be like you is a glorious thing:
This is my magnet, my attraction.

You are all my good in times of peace,
my only support in days of trouble,
my one sufficiency when life shall end.
Help me to see how good your will is in everything,
and even when it doesn’t match with mine
teach me to be pleased with it.

Grant me to feel you in fire, and food and every provision,
and to see that your many gifts and creatures
are but your hands and fingers for taking hold of me.
You are a bottomless fountain of all good,
I give myself to you our of love,
for all I have or own is yours,
my goods, family, church, self,
to do with as you will,
to honour yourself in me, and by all that is mine.

If it be consistent with your eternal plans,
the purpose of your grace,
and the great ends of your glory,
then give me the blessings of being comforted by you;
If not, let me resign myself to the better plans you have for me.

