The Trinity

We talk about the Trinity, the ‘triune’ God (God in three), Father, Son and Spirit, but it can be a very confusing thing when it comes to prayer. Who do we pray to? Do we pray different things to different members of the Trinity? Sometimes people make the mistake of saying ‘Father, thank you for dying on the cross…’ but the Father didn’t die on the cross! So how should we pray to the three members of the Trinity?

Here the Puritans show us how. In praying to each member they keep in mind what role each member plays in our salvation and in life. So not only can we learn how to pray to all three members of the Trinity, but through this prayer we can learn a lot about what the different members of the Trinity do. Another good example of this is Shai Linnes rap which you can listen to here. It’s called ‘Triune Praise’.

Three in one, one in three, God of my Salvation,
Heavenly Father, blessed Son, eternal Spirit,
I praise you as one Being, one Essence,
one God in three distinct Persons,
for bringing sinners to know you and to be part of your kingdom.

O Father, you have loved me and you sent Jesus to buy me back;
O Jesus, you have loved me and took on my nature as a human being,
you shed your own blood to wash away my sins,
your righteousness covers up my unworthiness;

O Holy Spirit, you have loved me and came into my heart,
you put eternal life there,
you revealed the glories of Jesus to me.

Three Persons and one God, I bless and praise you,
for love that I didn’t deserve, so unspeakable, so wondrous,
so might to save the lost and raise them to glory.

O Father, I thank you that through your grace
you have given Jesus to me,
to be his sheep, jewel, inheritance;
O Jesus, I thank you that in your grace
you have accepted, married, bound me;
O Holy Spirit, I thank you that through your grace
you have shown that Jesus is my saviour
you have placed faith within me,
you have conquered my stubborn heart,
you have made me one with Jesus for ever.

O Father, you are seated on your throne to listen to my prayers,
O Jesus, your hand is ready to take my requests,
O Holy Spirit, you are willing to help my weaknesses,
to show me my need, to give me the words, to pray for me,
to strengthen me so that I will not faint in passionately praying to God.

O Triune God, who commands the universe,
you have commanded me to ask for those things
that are about your kingdom and my soul.
Let me live and pray as one baptised into your threefold name.

