The Valley of Vision

This first prayer expresses the idea that to get a true view of how high and amazing God and therefore the gospel is, we need to be brought low – in the valley. Normally you go on top of a mountain to get a good view of things. We always try and raise ourselves up (all the ‘self-esteem’ talk of our generation). But the puritans realised that to get a good view of God we need to go low. God’s ways are very different to our ways. It’s almost back to front (a paradox).

Lord, High and holy, meek and lowly
You have brought me to the valley of vision,
where I live down in the depths, but see you in the heights
surrounded by mountains of my sin, I look up and see your glory.

Let me learn that your way looks like it contradicts itself
that the way down is the way up
that to be low is to be high
that the broken heart is the healed heart,
that the spirit effected that realises its guild is the rejoicing spirit
that the repenting soul is the victorious soul
that to have nothing is to possess everything
that to bear the cross is to wear the crown
that to give is to receive
that the valley is the place of vision

Lord, in the daytime stars can be seen from the deepest wells
and the deeper the wells the brighter your stars shine

Let me find your light in my darkness
your life in my death
your joy in my sorrow
your grace in my sin
your riches in my poverty
your glory in my valley.

