I haven’t blogged in quite a while and one of the main reasons for this is that I started a new job for the government… sadly its not MI5, although I couldn’t tell you that even if it was…

One of the things that struck me recently about the work place is the prevalence of deceptive sin. It’s amazing how blind people can be.

A well known past time of the office is of course gossip. But what astounds me is that no matter how much they gossip about others, and others gossip to them about other people, there is this overwhelming confidence that no-one will gossip about them! There’s just a free-flow of back-biting where someone who is out of the office is bitched about, only to come into the office and bitch about other people completely unaware of what they’ve been saying behind their back. It really does astound me!

But that is the deceptiveness of sin. It puts me in the centre and really makes me think my world revolves around me. I just pray that I won’t be sucked into this and that I will be able to offer something very different and that when people from my office spend time with others from my Gospel Community they will witness something that astounds them in a different way…

